Are Advertisements Ethical? Well No, but im Still Gonna Ask

What makes online media flourish without advertisements?! Well, nothing. Ads are the main source of income when it comes to most media. No really, advertising is everywhere. I did not realize how true that statement was until I reflected back onto my media journal. Every source of media I consumed had ads attached to it. Except for music, but of course I must pay 10 dollars (now 5 thanks to being a student) a month in order to listen to my music in peace. And trust me, it is considered more than peaceful for me. Maybe it is because I am apart of Generation Z, but I find modern day ads just terrible. It’s almost like I know all the advertising tactics, so I am sick of seeing them. My current marketing class probably doesn’t help my view on advertisements either. Knowing how advertisements are made, how they are shown to the target markets and how they rope consumers in makes me turn off from them. Also kind of ironic, since I am a marketing minor who hates ads. I do not think I am the only one who tries not to indulge in ads either. Cable TV ads are outdated since most people really do not indulge in them anymore. The streaming services that are indulged (especially that have ads attached to them) mostly have the option to pay extra to get them removed. I proudly pay that small fee, since I cannot stand ads. 

 After watching that short documentary in class on how sellers’ market to children, it also made me reflect as to how spoiled I was as a child. Actually, now typing that out, I’m not too sure if I was actually spoiled. Maybe a little bit, but I was entirely brainwashed. I was in constant advertising limbo from ages five to nine. I would casually be watching my favorite cartoon at the time, then when it was time for the ad slots, I would be initially annoyed. But as each ad played, I got more entwined with what toy was appearing on my screen. These ads had eye-piercing colors, loud screaming kids, aggravating music and gave you whiplash with the fast camera movement. It is the perfect ad for a child. At least, perfect for me as a kid. It made me want whatever product was shown so badly. I would beg and beg my parents and grandparents to get said item relentlessly. For Christmas, my birthday, if I got A’s in school, I begged until I lost my voice. Then, when I finally got said toy, I would play with it for at maximum a week. I never understood why the advertisements made the toy look so much better, until recently. Is this idea of brainwashing children into buying and begging for toys unethical?  

I think my favorite advertisements are the ones that used to make me laugh as a kid! I always looked forward to Superbowl ads, just because they were so entertaining. I also think it’s bizarre how much of a budget these ads got during big events, especially Superbowl. But anyways, the comedic ones always left a memorable impression on my brain. 

1 thought on “Are Advertisements Ethical? Well No, but im Still Gonna Ask

  1. Your comment about knowing all the advertising tactics stuck out to me. I think just simply from the extreme amount of exposure to ads our generation is subject to, we could go back 20-30 years and be absolutely disruptive to marketing experts. I think if any one of us walked into an ad agency and told them to make such and such ad just based off our experience, a) we’d get laughed out but b) it would be a revolutionary ad for the time if it did get made.

    Like

Leave a comment