Lights Camera Action?

Everyone knows and loves the feeling of going to watch a new movie with all that built up anticipation with some nice popcorn and a nice cold soda. Us as viewers do not see all that leads to the actual release of a movie and all the steps it takes to direct and act in it but also all the guidelines a movie must follow just to try and reach as much success as possible. But when a movie is directly correct and has no issues during and before its release it can truly be something amazing.

The MPAA is the association in charge of censoring movies and making sure movies abide by their code of conduct. In the film we watched in class “This film is not yet rated” films were rated by an anonymous group of people which I think is very biased and unfair. It restricts viewers from what we actually want to see or what we do not want to see. Directors and writers are also on a leash on what topics they can actually cover directly without having to try and find ways to say something meaningful in a way that wont get them in trouble. I do not think movie censorship should not be as strict because film is a form of art and speech and it in a way kind of violates our first amendment right to have freedom of speech  

How good a movie is really just based on what the viewer likes or dislikes. My opinion I do not watch many movies unless they are high action or I personally find it interesting. Which is probably how we all judge, but there are movies that are majorly loved across the world. A movie I can easily think of that we talked about in class is JAWS. I have seen the movie only a couple times but the few times I have seen it I can see how influential the film was to the movie that came after and how Spielberg grew and was shot into stardom from it. 

Going into this blog this week I thought I did not know many movies made in the late sixties and the seventies, but while doing a little extra research I realized I knew a lot of movies that I like. Movies like Rocky, Halloween, The exorcist and a couple of other films. One film that stood out to me from this time was Bonnie and Clyde which was one of the very first American violent films. 

 After writing this week in class I actually had to fight the urge to watch some classic movies instead of doing my homework, Which brings me to the question: is there a movie that every time you see that it is on you have to watch it and why? Do you think the movie industry now is at a good place and if not what do you think they should do to satisfy more viewers and why?

2 thoughts on “Lights Camera Action?

  1. A specific type of scene could get more views. Directors are playing around with how they make films and movies to viewers what is viral.

    Like

  2. I movie I would say is “Friday” because it is a classic movie from the 90s and was a movie based on everyday life experiences growing up in poverty that you see everyday . I think the movie industry is at a decent place right now but I think the more that it grows over time it might become something bigger than the level it’s already at now.

    Like

Leave a comment